

Recipients of the Robin P. Armstrong Memorial Prize for Excellence in Indigenous Studies Récipiendaires de la Bourse commémorative d'excellence Robin P. Armstrong pour les Études Autochtones



2024 – Charlotte Bellehumeur M.A. Thesis: Mobilités professionnelles, espace de rencontre et éthique dans les communautés innues et naskapie de la Côte-Nord du Québec



2023 – Michael Fabris PhD Dissertation: The dispossession(s) of law : Indigenous peoples, Canada, and articulated jurisdictions (University of British Columbia)



2022 – Eleanor Stephenson PhD Dissertation: Akaqsarnatik: Food, power, and policy in Arctic Canada (McGill University)



2021 – Emmelie Paquette M.A. Thesis: The potential impacts of changing sea ice and ship traffic on caribou crossing areas (Carleton University)



2019 – Emily Martin M.A. Thesis: Free Prior and Informed Consent to mine development in the Yukon: Norms, Expectations, and the Role of Novel Governance Mechanisms (University of Guelph)



2018 – Erica Oberndorfer PhD Dissertation: The shared stories of people and plants: Cultural and ecological relationships between people and plants in Makkovik, Nunatsiavut (Labrador, Canada)



2017 – Paul Chaput M.A. Thesis: Planting Stories, Feeding Communities: Knowledge, Indigenous Peoples, and Film.



2016 - Joanna Petrasek MacDonald

M.A. Thesis: From the Minds of Youth: Exploring Inuit Youth Resilience within a Changing Climate and Applications for Climate Change Adaptation in Nunatsiavut, Labrador, Canada' and it was completed at McGill University in December 2014.



2015 - Benita Tam, University of Toronto M.A. Thesis: The effects of weather and climate variability on the well-being of a rural and urban Aboriginal group in Ontario, Canada



2014 - Lynn Barwin, University of Ottawa, Dept of Geography and Environmental Sciences

M.A. Thesis: Places of Tradition, Places of Research: the evaluation of traditional medicine workshops using culturally and locally relevant methods.



2013 - Vanessa Sloan-Morgan,

Dalhousie's School for Resource & Environmental Studies M.A. Thesis: The Maa-nulth Treaty: Huu-ayaht youth visions for post-Treaty life, embedded in the present colonial conditions of Indigenous-Settler relations in British Columbia



2012 - Chris Turner, PhD Student, Natural Resources and Environmental Studies | University of Northern BC M.A. Thesis: Overlap: Causes and Implications of Contested Indigenous Claims to Territory in the Context of the British Columbia Treaty Process



2011 - Zoe Dalton, University of Toronto M.A. Thesis: As We Move Ahead Together: Foregrounding Reconciliation and Renewed First Nations/non-Aboriginal Relations in Environmental Management and Research - An Examination of the Species at Risk Conservation and Recovery Scenario in Southwestern Ontario



2010 - Nathan Bennett for his Masters of Environmental studies thesis (Nature Based Recreation and Tourism, Lakehead University) Conservation, Community Benefit, Capacity Building and the Social Economy: A Case Study of Lutsel K'e and the Proposed National Park.



2009 - Claude Peloquin, University of Manitoba. For his thesis: Variability, change and continuity in social-ecological systems: insights from James Bay Cree cultural ecology.



2008 - Suzanne Mills - Queen's University



2007 - Gita Laidler - University of Toronto, for a Ph.D. thesis titled: Ice, Through Inuit Eyes: Characterizing the importance of sea ice processes, use, and change around three Nunavut communities. The supervisors were Dr. Vincent Robinson, Dept. of Geography, University of Toronto at Mississauga and Dr. Deborah McGregor, Dept. of Geography and Aboriginal Studies Program, University of Toronto.



2006 - Piotr Wilk, for a Ph.D. thesis titled: Self-Employment on Indian Reserves. The supervisors were Dr. Paul Maxim and Dr. Jerry White, Department of Sociology, University of Western Ontario. This study relied on methods of multi-level modeling to examine how individual and community level characteristics interact and influence entrepreneurship among Canada's First Nations.

2005 - Ryan Walker for his thesis: Urban Citizenship and Aboriginal Self-Determination in the Winnipeg Low-Cost Housing Sector.

Tribunal.



2004 - Bettina Koschade for her thesis: The Tay River watershed is our responsibility: The Ardoch Algonquins and the 2000-2002 Environmental Review Tribunal Hearings. The thesis examined Ardoch

Algonquin First Nation and Allies' (AAFNA) interventions in juridical and legislative settings at the Tay River Ontario Environmental Review

- Company

2003 - Yael Levitte from the Department of Geography, University of Toronto, was the 2003 winner. The title of Yael's thesis was Social Capital and Aboriginal Economic Development: Opportunities and Challenges. Her thesis supervisors were Professor Meric Gertler and Professor Amrita Daniere. Yael's thesis explored the history and future of economic development in three Northern Ontario Aboriginal communities.



2002 – The first Robin Armstrong Memorial Prize was awarded to Dr. Kathleen Wilson for her Ph.D. dissertation entitled: The Role of Mother Earth in Shaping the Health of Anishinabek: A Geographical Exploration of Culture, Health and Place.